The OPSEU Local 549 is made up of:

  • the staff of the Ontario Science Centre
  • the staff of Compass who work in the cafeteria and the cafe at the front entrance
  • the staff of Eurest who clean the building

Officers of Local 549 (elected for 2020/2021)

  • Raj Ramlakhan - president
  • Martin Fischer – vice president
  • Chris Fenwick – 2nd vice president
  • Walter Stoddard – chief steward
  • Harry Jeganathan – treasurer
  • Liona Davies - secretary

List of stewards of the Ontario Science Centre (elected for 2020/2021)

  • Caitlin Carlisle
  • Chris Fenwick
  • David Braun
  • David Sugarman
  • David Yun
  • Doug Carman
  • Emma Holder
  • Eva Lau
  • Glenn McIntosh
  • Haidar Furozuni
  • Harry Jeganathan
  • Ioanna Skarvelis
  • Liona Davies
  • Luzan Wray
  • Marko Pashkovsky
  • Martin Fischer
  • Rajesh (Raj) Ramlakhan
  • Simon Chang
  • Walter Stoddard
  • Zoe Fitzgerald

Resources for members

  • “The Collective Agreement” is our work contract. It spells out the working condidtions, benefits and salaries. It was extended in 2018 and some additional aspects were added. Our salaries are listed in a separate document.

  • The owner’s manual gives a detailed overview of how OPSEU is organized.

  • The OPSEU constitution describes in detail how OPSEU is organized.

  • “inSolidarity” - The OPSEU newsletter

  • “OPSEU Powertool” - a comprehensive resource meant for stewards, but useful for anyone interested in how to get things done at the local.

  • OPSEU organizes a range of events. Look for “educationals” of Region 5 - they are trainings that are available to all of us.

  • OPSEU is divided into regions. We are part of region 5. Each region has its own offices and employs staff to help the locals. Currently our staff representative is Christine Laverty.